
RENEWABLE ENERGY PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE  OR SOLAR THERMAL PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE     
--  INSTRUCTIONS -- PLEASE READ CAREFULLY

Applications that are incomplete or missing required documents will not be processed and will be 
returned to the applicant.

1.	 A legible copy of Driver License or Passport or any type of Government ID MUST be attached. 

2.	 Your application must be signed and notarized. 

3.	 In accordance with the General Laws of the State of Rhode Island, (H-8200, S-2692); the Department of Labor and Training 
will issue a Renewable Energy Professional (REP) Certificate to an individual who is currently a registered contractor in 
Rhode Island and fulfills at least one of the following qualifications:  

	 A.  The applicant holds a certificate from the SEI Solar Professionals Certificate for Residential and Commercial
	       Photovoltaic Systems. 

	 B.  The applicant currently holds a certificate from the North American Board of Certified Energy Practitioners (NABCEP)
		  as a: PV Installation Professional OR Solar Heating Installer (solar hot water). The REP will then be able to install only
		  the technology for which they hold a certificate. 

	 C.  The applicant holds a current certification from Underwriter Laboratory (UL)’s PV Installer Certification Program.
		  This training is available to members of the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) and the National
		  Electrical Contractors Association (NECA). 

	 D.  The applicant holds an Associate’s degree or higher in a renewable energy technology or solar PV installation from an
		  accredited school.

	 E. The applicant holds a certificate of training from a manufacturer of a specific technology for the installation of that
		  specific technology (e.g. solar roof shingles).

	 F.  The applicant holds a certification from Everblue’s PV Training Program, PV Installation Professional for Solar PV
		  Installers OR Solar PV Mastery Combo.

Electrical and plumbing licenses already includes the work allowed by the REP limited license. Only contractors or individuals 
without an electrical or plumbing license are required to obtain the REP limited license to perform renewable energy work. 

Non-Refundable Processing Application Fee
						    
			   Two-Year
	 Computer Code	 Application Fee	 License Fee

ELECTRICIAN:
Renewable Energy Professional REPC 	 127 	 NO TEST	  $ 240 

PLUMBING:
Solar Thermal Professional STPC 	 056	  NO TEST 	 $240	  

	

State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
RI Department of Labor and Training

Division of Workforce Regulation and Safety, Professional Regulations Unit 
1511 Pontiac Avenue - Building 70 - P.O. BOX 20247, Cranston, RI 02920-0943   

Phone:(401)462-8580   |   Fax: (401)462-8528   |   www.dlt.ri.gov/profregs
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APPLICATION FOR RENEWABLE ENERGY PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE 
AND SOLAR THERMAL PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE

Application Must be Printed CLEARLY

Social Security Number: _____________________	 Date of Birth: _______________________

Full Name (Last, First + Middle Initial): _____________________________________________________________________

Street Address: ________________________________________________________________________________________

City/Town: ______________________________________________ State: _____________ Zip Code: __________________

Home or Mobile Telephone: _____________________________       Email: ________________________________________

Certificate Applying For: _____________________________________    Computer Code: _____________

 	 CATEGORY – Applicants must state which Certificate is requested

  

Employer: ____________________________________________________________________________________________

If Self Employed, Company Name: _________________________________________________________________________

Employer Address: ______________________________________________________________________________________

City/Town: ______________________________________________ State: _____________ Zip Code: __________________

Employer Telephone: _____________________________________

Applicant must answer all questions on both pages truthfully and swear to the same before a NOTARY PUBLIC. Penalties for 
false information are as itemized in the General Laws of Rhode Island and Addendum. Statement may be investigated and 
verified for truthfulness. 

General Listing of Work History:

1. Name of Employer: ____________________________________    Type of Work: ___________________________________

1. Dates Worked: From: _______________________ To: ___________________________ 

2. Name of Employer: ____________________________________    Type of Work: ___________________________________

2. Dates Worked: From: _______________________ To: ___________________________

3. Name of Employer: ____________________________________    Type of Work: ___________________________________

3. Dates Worked: From: _______________________ To: ___________________________ 

Education - List all education and schooling that you have received in the renewable Energy Professional and Solar 
Thermal Professional. 

1. Location: ____________________________________________    Degree/Diploma: _______________________________

1. Dates Attended: From : _______________________ To: ___________________________

2. Location: ____________________________________________    Degree/Diploma: _______________________________

2. Dates Attended: From : _______________________ To: ___________________________

3. Location: ____________________________________________    Degree/Diploma: _______________________________

3. Dates Attended: From : _______________________ To: ___________________________
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Submit ONLY this page and the prior page with required documents to: 

Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training

Division of Workforce Regulation and Safety

Professional Regulation Unit

1511 Pontiac Avenue, PO Box 20247

Cranston, RI 02920-0943

Phone (401) 462-8580  |  Fax (401) 462-8528

If you fail to pass your examination, you may request a review of the same, in writing, to the Division of 
Professional Regulation, within thirty (30) days of failure notice.

Equal Opportunity Employer •  Auxiliary Aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. TTY via RI Relay: 711

Listed employers or customers may be sent forms to attest to the truthfulness of all statements on this 
application and these will have to be sent back to this division, properly notarized, before any action is taken on 
this licensing test application.

Applicant Signature: __________________________________________________   Date: ____________________________

Notary Signature and Seal: _________________________________________________ Expiration Date: ________________

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY – PLEASE DO NOT WRITE IN THIS AREA 
 

 Test Fee Paid    CHECK     CREDIT     MO	 Division/Commission Approval for Test

  ____________________________________________               ________________________________________________

 Comments / Date Approved: __________________________________________________________________________

 Date Paid: __________________________________________________________________________________________



Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training 
Workforce Regulation and Safety 
Professional Regulation Unit 

Equal Opportunity Employer • Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.

TTY via RI Relay 711 

NOTICE 
Renewable Energy Professional 

Applicants and Solar Thermal 

Professional Applicants 

According to RI General Laws §5-65-2 and 5-65-7, 
ALL individuals who possess a Master License in: 

•Renewable Energy Professional
•Thermal Solar Professional Trades,

and act as a contractor* within their respective Trade, 

must provide a current certificate of insurance 

for public liability, property damage, combined single limit 
and bodily injury for at least $500,000 

to the RI Department of Labor and Training 
as a condition for a valid license. 

Please email required documents to dlt.profregs@dlt.ri.gov or mail them to: 

RI Dept. of Labor and Training 
Workforce Regulation and Safety, Professional Regulation 

1511 Pontiac Avenue, P O Box 20247, Building 70-2, Cranston, RI 02920 

For questions please call John Shaw, Administrator at (401) 462-8568 

 If the licensee is not acting as a contractor, please complete the exemption certification on the 
reverse side of this notice. 



Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training 
Workforce Regulation and Safety 
Professional Regulation Unit 

Equal Opportunity Employer • Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.

TTY via RI Relay 711 

 

 

 
 

RHODE ISLAND DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND TRAINING 
 

Exemption Certification 
 
 
 
 
I certify that although I hold a Master License, I am not currently acting as a contractor 
in my respective trade, therefore exempt from the insurance requirement of Rhode 
Island General Laws §5-65-2 and 5-65-7. 

 

 

I understand that if I begin contracting for work in my respective trade, I must provide 
proof of insurance to the Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, Professional 
Regulation Unit. 

 
 
 
 

Printed Name:    
 
 
 

Signature:    
 
 
 

License #:   
 
 
 

Date:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
RHODE ISLAND DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND TRAINING 

Administrative Offices: 1511 Pontiac Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920 • www.dlt.ri.gov 



   Department of Labor and Training 
                    Workforce Regulation and Safety Division  
               Joseph Degnan, Assistant Director 

 
 
Statement Regarding Workforce Regulation and Safety Policy 15-01 
 
 
As the licensing authority for the electrical trade, DLT’s Workforce Regulation and 
Safety Division received a number of inquiries in early 2015 from contractors, renewable 
energy professionals and electricians seeking guidance regarding licensure requirements 
pertaining to the scope of work performed on renewable energy projects.  
 
On March 16, 2015, DLT convened a stakeholder group to seek input from professionals 
representing installers, contractors, electricians and renewable energy policy groups. 
Several parties attended this meeting and offered their position as to how DLT should 
enforce RIGL §5-6-8 (g), Renewable Energy Professional limited electrical license. 
Parties were asked to provide written testimony in support of their position to Assistant 
Director Joseph Degnan subsequent to the meeting.  
 
Based on the department’s review of the comments received, guidance previously issued 
by the independent State Board of Examiners of Electricians and requirements of related 
licensing laws in neighboring states, the department has issued Workforce Regulation and 
Safety (WRS) policy 15-01.  
 
This policy requires any and all components of solar installation projects considered to be 
electrical apparatus to be installed by electricians licensed by the department. Taking all 
aspects of photovoltaic (PV) systems into consideration, the department’s position is that 
the racking/rail systems for PV installations are indeed part of the effective grounding 
and bonding systems for these installations. As such, only persons that have received the 
requisite classroom and on-the-job training necessary to obtain journeyperson licensure 
by DLT are permitted to install these systems. Electrical apprentices, working under the 
guidance and direct supervision of licensed journeypersons may also perform these 
installations.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

4/28/2015 



   Department of Labor and Training 
                    Workforce Regulation and Safety Division  
               Joseph Degnan, Assistant Director 

 
 
 
WRS POLICY ADVISORY: 15-01 
SUBJECT: Installation of Renewable Energy Technologies 
PURPOSE: To clarify licensure requirements for the installation of renewable 
energy technologies.  
DATE ISSUED: April 28, 2015 
 
 
Rhode Island General Laws § 5-6-8 establishes a Renewable Energy Professional 
Certificate which allows certificate holders without an electrical license to perform 
ancillary non-electrical renewable energy work. Licensed electricians are required to 
perform all renewable energy electrical work.  
 
It is the policy of the Department of Labor and Training that:  
 
The term apparatus under RIGL § 5-6-8 (g) includes, but is not limited to: frames, racks, 
rails, modules and photovoltaic panels.  
 
Ancillary non-electrical renewable energy work under R.I. Gen. Laws §5-6-8 (g) includes 
advertising, bidding, contracting, and distributing materials to the final location of 
installation. Additionally, this work includes the installation of ground and rooftop 
support brackets and ballasts for rack systems.  
 
Solar sheathing systems under RIGL§ 5-6-8 (g) are limited to photovoltaic modules that 
are attached directly to the roof structure without a racking or rail system and replace 
material as the primary weatherproofing system for the roof structure.  
 
Conflicting interpretations of the law led the Department to provide this guidance. Trade 
license laws will be enforced by the Department in accordance with this policy. This 
policy applies to all projects bid for and awarded on or after the policy effective date. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


	Printed Name: 
	License: 
	Date: 


